Being What You Love To Do

Ever since I was a boy (some may say I still am) I have loved exploring and going on adventures. From navigating the reefs of Rottnest Island in a dinghy to crawling through the bush by the river just near home, I feel alive when I’m playing with my other mother, Mother Nature.Over the last few years I have discovered how being present in the moment is the only way to actually be happy. The good news is that you can be present doing almost anything, the great news is that you are more likely to be present doing something you love.I fully realise now why I am drawn to photography. It’s not because I like playing with light, or getting the best shot. And although I do enjoy seeing awesome photographs, nothing compares to the real thing!

I love being a landscape photographer because of where it takes me. And I don’t just mean in the physical sense.

EarlyThis morning I woke up at four a.m. I was just laying awake in bed so I got up and drove out to Hancock Gorge in Karijini National Park. I climbed down the cliff, rock hopped and waded through streams, traversed rock faces and spider crawled through crevasses. All in the dark! It certainly got my adventurous spirit burning, and I was definitely present.

Crevasse
There were a couple of times where I thought forward to what I was going to do, but I am getting better now at reminding myself to come back to the present. Focussing on my surroundings, feeling grateful, and telling myself that I will deal with the future when it becomes the present all helped reign back my drifting mind.
So why the hell was I doing this you may be asking. Well on the surface, it was to take photographs of the beautiful Kermit’s Pool.
Kermits PoolBut sitting in this awe inspiring place, the sound of the water flowing freely, birds high above singing happily to greet the first glow of sunlight, I felt happy. Really happy! Blissful. The happiness you feel when everything is just perfect. When there isn’t a thing you want to change in the world, and there’s not a single thought running through your mind. Just being.This is exactly why I love being a photographer.

Amir Zoghi sums it up perfectly.

“It is not doing what you love to do that makes you happy and joyful but rather who you are being when you are doing what you love to do”.

Cascade
This entry was posted in Australia, Hiking, Self Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being What You Love To Do

  1. aimeetrial says:

    These are sensational matt!! I’m working super hard on being present too at the moment after reading a book called your erroneous zones by wayne dyer, amazing, pick it up if you haven’t already!! Xxx

    • MattJill says:

      Cool. Thanks Aimee. I’ll check that book out. Stopping thinking is not that easy as it’s a fairly ingrained habit. Reading books about it reminds me to stay present and make a quiet mind a new habit. I love Eckhart Tolle’s ‘A New Earth’. And currently enjoying Amir Zoghi books and blogs.

      • Aimee says:

        Thanks for the suggestions I’ll add them to my never ending list! Think I’m going to have to get into audio books, I spend a chunk of time driving so may as well make better use of it! x

  2. Marita says:

    Wow Matt – pics are extraordinary. Getting up at 4am was obviously worth so much more than the pretty pics though!!

  3. Pingback: The Best of the West | Matt And Jill Went Up The Hill

Leave a Reply

