Three’s A Crowd

Departing home on my bicycle, Will, I have a huge grin from ear to ear after I leave mum with tears as I head down the pathway. Excited for for the adventure, the challenge, the freedom of a bicycle with the wind blowing on my face.

I ride to Joondalup to meet someone for a final goodbye. An hour and a half later the sun warms up and I depart for a journey of a total of 88km to expected destination, Guilderton.

At first the ride is fine, but it’s warm. The singing in my head dwindles and very quickly I am asking myself why am I doing this. The internal dialogue goes a little like this,
“Why the f**k are you doing this?”
“Why not?” That doesn’t seem to be the correct answer.
“Because of the adventure and the freedom”.
I’m quickly and continuously reminded, “it’s hot, your riding into head winds, your stomach hurts, your bum hurts, it’s hot, and it’s f**king hot and my head hurts”.
Damn straight my head was hurting, this conversation was driving me bonkers and that F-word was used almost second word! There were a few points when I could have cried as I passed new suburbs only hoping for the next one to be Yanchep so I can turn off. I stopped for a refresher at Subway for some cold water as I had already polished off 2.5lites in a couple of hours. I finished 3/4 of my lolly bag only to drop the rest. There was another disappointment strengthening Negative Nelly’s argument. At one point with gusts of head winds I look at my speedo and I’m only doing 10km/hr at full speed!!!

I then realised I need to change this mindset, I stopped looking at how many more Km’s to do, the time, the wind direction and said to myself, “I am riding my bicycle”. I became present and the side of my lips started to curl up. However, Nelly still got into my head and put a dampen on things a few times, her biggest case being the dehydration from the heat. At one point I even pulled over went to call Matt to find out how far he was so he can pick me up. Luckily, the iPhone over heated and would not work, so there we were, just Will & Jill (and Nelly whom I was trying to throw over the hill). I chose to continue, mostly because there was no shade (there you go again Nelly). I continuously checked my mirror still looking for Matt while saying “I am riding my bicycle”. In those moments where I was present it was easy to ride and I enjoyed the freedom and adventure.

Later past Yanchep I hear from Matt who had only left home. Disappointed but willing to continue only until he arrives. Nelly did get the better of me in the end, so Matt picked me up after 50km, after just under 3.5 hours.

To top off the start of a new adventure we spent some time at the beach, after a snooze of course, and watched a beautiful sunset.

20130408-194354.jpg

20130408-194443.jpg

This entry was posted in Australia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Three’s A Crowd

  1. Doris says:

    Glad that you had a back up plan Jill. The sunset was gorgeous. Lots of love xx

  2. Marita says:

    Wow Jilly – you were very brave to have a go at that, but I’m so pleased you didn’t push yourself over the edge. Glad your Shining Knight was on hand to save to day!! Beautiful sunset – how’s your bum??

    • MattJill says:

      Yes he definitely my Shining Knight and I’m very lucky to have him. Matt believes in me and my ideas more than I do sometimes, which gives me the courage to pursue them. I’m forever grateful for his faith in me ๐Ÿ™‚
      And my bum is perfectly fine.
      Love Jill

  3. paynel01 says:

    Keep going Jill ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep your chin up and your legs rolling over. Excellent first day in tough conditions. Laura x

    • MattJill says:

      Thanks Laura. I couldn’t believe how slow I was going despite working hard. I also learnt a very valuable lesson, make sure I leave before the heat it was a killer!

  4. Kate says:

    good work jilly ๐Ÿ™‚ this blog made me laugh… just like your call of frustration yesterday!!
    keep at it!
    xx

  5. susan rennie says:

    Well done Jill – 50kms is a long way with a bum hurting and a head full of negative talk. The turnaround of thought is so powerful as you have shared in these blogs. Great prize to finish the day with that sunset. Love Susan

  6. Marj Mccaughey says:

    Good job Jill, my bum, legs hurt in sympathy. I could only dream of doing that ride, 22kms around lake Joondalup and i`m dead. Looking foreward to see how you find nursing outer WA compared to Perth. Marj

Leave a Reply

