Thanksgiving

So we keep hearing about Thanksgiving here in Hawaii but we don’t really know what it is. All we really know about it, from the American movies we have seen is that you eat turkey.

So when we received a voucher for a free 16 pound (7kg) turkey we started to wonder how we could do thanksgiving. It might be a bit tricky at our place, seeing we live in a camp ground on the beach with a little gas stove.

I was was on my afternoon run when I bumped into some friends we made in the camp site, who we hadn’t seen in a while.

They told me they had rented a house and my excitement bubbled over. “Can we do thanksgiving? Matt and I have never done thanksgiving. We have a free turkey, we just need somewhere and someone to celebrate with!”

Of course with my enthusiasm they said “Yes.”

On my run home, in the spirit of thanksgiving, I was flooded with all the things I am grateful for and my heart was huge, full of joy. So this blog I am going to share my gratitude with you all.

What I am truly grateful for:

The decision and the courage to go on an indefinite travel adventure. I am forever grateful I gave Matt the ultimatum that I was booking flights to India one Friday night there and then, with or without him. I am grateful he chose to join me, as this adventure is more than I could ever imagine. Thank you.

The world is my oyster

How money flows so easily to me. I am grateful as soon as we said we were travelling that money appears from all miraculous places. Thank you.

Learning how to surf. Learning how to embrace the unpleasant situation I experienced in Sri Lanka. Facing my frustrations and learning to flow like the rivers. Thank you

Learning to Surf

Climbing Mt Everest Base Camp and admiring my strength to continue when I was sick and fatigued. Thank you

Mt Everest Base Camp Trek

To Matt, for sweeping me off my feet. Thank you.

Experiencing a tsumani warning, and freaking out!! Thank you

Hiking the Na Pali Coast. I realised that the only limits you possess are the ones you put on yourself. As a result I was able to face my fear and walk across a cliff hanger. Thank you

Conquering more fears

Meeting the most fabulous people on our travels. You continue to inspire me. Thank you.

The awesome & perfectly functioning body I reside in. I love how I have a body that can take me up mountains, swim oceans and run across the world. Thank you.

Learning about myself, learning to accept and love myself, learning to enjoy the present moment, learning to be spontaneous, learning to love life, learning to accept the unpleasant. Thank you, thank you and thank you!!!

As much as some of these experiences may be perceived as ‘bad’ experiences, they are the best things that I could ever experienced as they have given my greatest growth spurts. Thank you

Love Jill
————-

This entry was posted in Hawaii, Self Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. So beautiful Jill! I have so loved reading your blog and being inspired by the transformations you guys are experiencing. Thank you!!!

  2. Marita says:

    What a fabulous exercise Jill – I wonder if the Americans really get into the Spirit of Thanksgiving the way you have. You certainly know how to squeeze the most out of all that life has to offer. Right now, I’m soooo grateful that you and Matt found each other (said with tears in my eyes) …………just being mum eh??

    • MattJill says:

      I hope Americans get into the spirit of it, but I have some reservations.
      Life has more than anything I could ever imagine. It just gets better and better!!!
      I am super grateful to have met Matt, and I am grateful to be welcomed into your family xox

  3. Teena says:

    Money miraculously appearing for you to go travelling is like money miraculously appear when dad wants to buy a new go kart 😛

    Miss u guys Xx

    • MattJill says:

      Isn’t it amazing? You just have to believe it – seriously.
      Matt and I didn’t have the cash saved for this sort of adventure, and it still keeps unexpectantly flowing to us…
      Food for thought for you xxx

  4. Helen says:

    hi jill you forgot to thank me for making you:) i still think you are mine not the milkmans. and teena it wasnt fortune that got me a new gokart it was hard work:) and ime not taking you for dinner now,thats misfortune:) Love Dad xxx

  5. Doris says:

    Having a great attitude helps us to make the most of our life. Great to hear that you are both loving and embracing this journey.

Leave a Reply

